Reviews provided by an independent third party

Reviews are compiled and evaluated by an independent third party, BazaarvoiceTM, the No. 1 provider of customer reviews. Reviews are never edited or deleted unless the content does not comply with EF and Bazaarvoice's™ terms and conditions, which prohibit the use of such things as personal information and inappropriate language.
Average Rating: (4.7 out of 5)
370 reviewed China: Beijing, Xi'an and Shanghai
5 stars
289
4 stars
71
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
  1. Once in a lifetime experience!

    I am so glad that I took my son on this trip with his school. It was amazing to learn about the Chinese culture firsthand while being there. Our tour guides were all awesome and I would recommend this once in a lifetime opportunity to anyone. How many people do you know that can say they have climbed the great wall, seen the Terracotta Army, and have seen the largest outdoor Buddha?
    StickyRice / Adult traveler
    Racine, WI / Posted on November 10, 2018
  2. Extraordinary China.

    Our Tour was to Beijing, Xi'an and Shanghai and the trip was excellent. Very interesting and educational for both students and parents. In addition to visits to the three major cities we were able to visit a Middle school in Beijing and interact with the students and teachers at the school. Students were able to participate in a Calligraphy class, follow a very informative tea demonstration and participate in Tai Chi classes at an ancient temple. Highlights of the tour included visits to the Forbidden city, hiking and running on the Great Wall and a wonderful visit to Xi"an to see the Terra Cotta warriors. Our Tour Director was excellent and handled all the logistics very well. Hotels were very clean and comfortable and our entire group enjoyed the fresh and varied food. Shanghai was another highlight and the kids enjoyed seeing the extraordinary architecture and new technologies.
    JJ21 / Group leader
    Raleigh NC / Posted on August 25, 2018
  3. Fabulous Tour!

    This tour was awesome! It was all I expected and more!. From the Forbidden City to the Great Wall, Terracotta Warriors and Hong Kong Island I could not ask for a better tour. The food was delicious and more than we could eat at every meal. Everyday presented us with another fabulous opportunity to experience and enjoy life in China. I would recommend this tour to everyone!
    GigiandPapa / Group leader
    Sebring, Florida / Posted on August 14, 2018
  4. It was a great trip.

    Our tour directors were superb, both in China and in Hong Kong. They were kind, accommodating and very knowledgeable about the country. It was a great experience for both students and adults on the tour. They made the trip a wonderful experience. The accommodations were good and accessible.
    Twinkle / Adult traveler
    New York, New York / Posted on July 09, 2018
  5. Where do I start!!

    I love trips w/EF...such a full trip! Not only do you visit the highlights but they take you off the beaten path. It’s always a safe trip w/so many adventures. This year after the tour we traveled to Shaoxing to visit my International Student. EF made all my travel arrangements which made my extension stress-free. I cannot say the best part because the entire trip was amazing!
    / Adult traveler
    Rockford, Illinois / Posted on July 01, 2018
  6. Great Experience

    Loved the culture and the atmosphere.
    / Adult traveler
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana / Posted on April 29, 2019
  7. BEST TRIP EVER!!

    This tour was amazing and completely opened my eyes to China. I never dreamed I’d ever be able to go and I had extremely high expectations. They were beyond exceeded thanks to our tour guide, the history he provided, and the welcoming ambiance of the people of China. I wish the trip would have been longer! If you are going, be sure to pack TP and face masks. The squatter toilets and Beijing smog is awful. The hotels were clean, we were in safe areas to explore at all times, we didn’t have too many tourist traps, and the food was okay. I recommend trying new street food. My only complaint about dinner was that is was all the same. But that is a part of the Chinese culture and I enjoyed embracing it, even if it wasn’t my preferred style of food. I was worried by the negative reviews about beds, food, etc. on other reviews and I have to say that if you aren’t willing to enjoy another culture, don’t go to another country. The reviews were dramatic and the trip was simply amazing. Keep and open mind and willingness to be uncomfortable to American standards at times, and this tour will be one to enjoy and remember.
    TACTravel / Student traveler
    Louisville, KY / Posted on March 27, 2019
  8. Awesome trip

    China was an adventure! Highly recommend visiting the "new" China! It was not what I envisioned - it's a lot cleaner and more modern than most people envision China to be like!

    The historic sites were surreal - walking on the Great Wall, riding a bike on the ancient 600 yrs old wall of Xian, watching how silk comforters are made, and seeing and experiencing the bustling city of Shangai!

    The only thing I would recommend to be mindful of is to make sure the group does not arrive to the destination too late at night! This was very tiring for the group to have to do a full day of tour on very little sleep!

    The local tour guides were very knowledgeable and flexible in changing the itinerary if the weather was not cooperating.

    Overall, great tour!
    Adaptability / Group leader
    Hawaii / Posted on March 25, 2019
  9. The guide made the difference

    Our guide was outstanding. He gave a fantastic experience. I seriously doubt that I would have enjoyed the trip as much with other guides.

    The actual China trip was excellent, and we were able to accomplish a lot of sightseeing. I also liked the local tour guides in Xi’an and Shanghai. I’m not really sure how to make the trip much better other than changing the first hotel. The holiday inn express hotels were superior, so I would recommend those throughout the entire ready of the tour.
    Thedocisout / Adult traveler
    El Paso, TX / Posted on March 25, 2019
  10. Yay

    the trip was amazing, all of the hotels had great food and rooms. the tour director was amazing and taught us many fun facts. all of the activities were a lot of fun but they were a bit rushed, so I do wish we had more time to explore and have fun in each city rather than be hurried along. even so, everything was great and we had a lot of fun.
    AlexMP / Student traveler
    euless, texas / Posted on March 18, 2019

Interested in this tour?

Or do you want to explore other options?